Skip to content

Internship part I

June 4, 2010

I am doing an internship with a school district as the culmination to my masters in educational technology. With my internship I am working with the field techs and getting a glimpse as to what they do on a day to day basis, in addition to creating a few educational products myself. Summer in a technology department is different than during the school year. The pace of life seems a little more relaxed, but like a duck moving across a still pond there is some serious work going on beneath the surface. Yesterday I went with a field tech to dust out teacher’s computer cases. The job hasn’t changed much since I did it over 10 years ago as a 15 year old. It’s amazing the computer towers still run with the amount of dust you will find in them. On the way back a teacher was having problems getting her school email to run on her Android phone. We spent 45minutes trying to figure it out to no avail. I was somewhat surprised we even attempted working on the teacher’s phone. Should school tech departments work on a teacher’s personal equipment? I’m not sure it’s the best use of man hours or even the right thing to do liability wise, but the teacher was thankful for the attempt. If a school really wants teachers to be able to access school email on their phones they should move to Google Apps. It would make the headache of phones, and accessibility barriers greatly decrease. (not to mention save a few bucks) Back in the office I began working on a few instructional screen-casts for Outlook, Learn 360, and CPS. These short instructional videos will soon be posted to the district website for teachers to further their effectiveness with the available district resources. Another assignment I’m working on for the district is creating a book trailer using Animoto. I’ve not used Animoto before but I’m excited about trying it and thinking about it’s educational possibilities. As I learn more about Animoto I will post my thoughts on it here. A book trailer’s purpose is very much like a video trailer’s purpose, and I hope my trailers will encourage students to read the books.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

